top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCourt (Wade) Caywood

The Truth Behind Mr. Kwod



by Sadie, Grade 6

At Lyman Moore Middle School, there is some tension going on in the 6th grade Baxter ELA teacher’s room. In mid-November of 2019, a new joke about our teacher, Mr. Caywood, began making its rounds around Baxter house, and eventually, the entire 6th grade. It’s my mission to get all the tea, dirt, background info, and juice to uncover the uprising of this phenomenon.

I interviewed some students to see their perspective on this issue.

Sadie: How do you feel about Mr. Caywood’s nickname, Mr. Kwod?

Nicolas: OMG, I love it! The best, 10/10, would recommend! Barely an inconvenience.

Sadie: And Nick, do you call Mr. Caywood this nickname?

Nick: I do!

Sadie: And do you know who started this trend?

Nick: IDK, I think one of the Bellas? Subscribe to inicop, 106 subs!

Fortunately, one of the three Bellas, (Isabella Fiore) in Baxter house was sitting nearby as Nick was being interviewed.

Sadie: Bella, did you start Mr. Kwod?

Bella: What? No.

Nick: I might not know who did it, but I know where it originated!

Sadie: Go on…

Nick: Someone once wrote on Mr. Cay-- Mr. Kwod’s board, and I quote, “Mr. Kwod is MAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!”

Sadie: Thank you for your time.

Nick: Wanders off…

Next, I decided to interview the man himself to get all of his opinions on this joke.

Me: So, how do you feel about all of this- this Mr. Kwod business?

Mr. Kw -- Caywood: I think this stems from all of the incorrect spelling of my name in general. I mean, I’ve heard K-wood, Kaywood, Mr. K, Mr. Cay, but, by far, the worst butchering of my name is Mr. Kwod. Of course, that’s the one that sticks.

Gavin: And then there’s Callamalshamawoozleoodleoo.

Sadie: Riiiiight. So are you going to do anything to prevent this epidemic of Kwod from spreading further?

Mr. Caywood: Just like the other names I've had, I’m just gonna let this one play out.

Sadie: Thank you for your time.

Mr. Caywood: It's been a pleasure.

I looked up “kwod” in the English dictionary online, but had no luck. Something came up on the urban dictionary, though, and this is what I found. “Kwod was the most listened to rock/alt radio station in the Sacramento area. KWOD promoted local Sacramento bands like papa roach, MC RUT, Deftones, etc.” The dictionary states. But, unfortunately, KWOD is over, having ended in 2009. So let’s all just hope this Mr. Kwod thing will die down soon enough, just like the first KWOD did.

Thank you,

Sadie J.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page